Wales v Germany


Germany have been FIFA World Cup winners on four occasions - in 1954, 1974 and 1990 as West Germany and in 2014 as Germany. Apart from the inaugural FIFA World Cup in 1930, which Germany did not enter, and the first tournament following the end of the Second World War in 1950, from which they were banned, Germany have qualified for every single World Cup finals tournament.

They have also won three UEFA European Championships, in 1972 and 1980 as West Germany and in 1996 as Germany and have qualified for every single tournament since 1972, including in 1988 as hosts.


The Deutscher Fußball-Bund (DFB)) was founded on 28 January 1900 in Leipzig but Germany did not play its first official international match until 1908; a 5-3 loss to Switzerland in Basel.

After the Second World War, Germany found itself split into the Federal Republic of Germany, German Democratic Republic and Saarland, each of which was banned by FIFA until 1950.

Saar was drawn in the same group as West Germany and Norway in the qualifying campaign for the 1954 FIFA World Cup but in 1955, Saarland became part of the Federal Republic of Germany and the Saarländischer Fußball-Verband was subsumed into the DFB.

Following the fall of the Berlin Wall and ahead of the formal reunification of Germany on 3 October 1990, the East German, Deutscher Fußball-Verband, had already been integrated into the West German, Deutscher Fußball-Bund.

Prior to reunification both West Germany and East Germany had breen drawn in the same qualifying group for the 1992 UEFA European Championships. Group 5, which also contained Belgium, Wales and Luxembourg. Games involving East Germany were scratched and fixtures initially scheduled for West Germany were now played as a unified Germany team.

Wales record v Germany

Wales' first meeting with West Germany was a friendly international in 1968.

Head to head v. West Germany


Match details

no.datescorescorers (wales)venue 
27908/05/1968Wales 1-1 West GermanyR DaviesNinian Park, CardiffFr
28126/03/1969West Germany 1-1 WalesB JonesWaldstadion, FrankfurtFr
32906/10/1976Wales 0-2 West Germany Ninian Park, CardiffFr
33914/12/1977West Germany 1-1 WalesD JonesWestfalenstadion, DortmundFr
34602/05/1979Wales 0-2 West Germany Racecourse Ground, WrexhamECQ
35217/10/1979West Germany 5-1 WalesCurtisMüngersdorfer Stadion, KölnECQ
41831/05/1989Wales 0-0 West Germany Arms Park, CardiffWCQ
42115/11/1989West Germany 2-1 WalesAllenMüngersdorfer Stadion, CologneWCQ

Head to head v. Germany


Match details

no.datescorescorers (wales)venue 
43205/06/1991Wales 1-0 GermanyRushArms Park, CardiffECQ
43416/10/1991Germany 4-1 WalesBodinFrankenstadion, NuremburgECQ
46026/04/1995Germany 1-1 WalesSaundersRheinstadion, DusseldorfECQ
46311/10/1995Wales 1-2 Germanyown goalArms Park, CardiffECQ
50514/05/2002Wales 1-0 GermanyEarnshawMillennium Stadium, CardiffFr
55108/09/2007Wales 0-2 Germany Millennium Stadium, CardiffECQ
55621/11/2007Germany 0-0 Wales Commerzbank Arena, FrankfurtECQ
56515/10/2008Germany 1-0 Wales Borussia-Park, MönchengladbachWCQ
56901/04/2009Wales 0-2 Germany Millennium Stadium, CardiffWCQ

Germany Honours

FIFA World Cup winners (4): 19541, 19741, 19901, 2014

FIFA World Cup runners-up (4): 19661, 19821, 19861, 2002

FIFA World Cup third place (3): 19701, 2002

UEFA European Championship winners (2): 19721, 19801, 1996

UEFA European Championship runners-up (3): 19761, 1992, 2008

Welsh players to have made their debut against Germany

Six players have made their debut for Wales against West Germany.

Four players have made their debut for Wales against Germany.


1Playing as West Germany.